City DEPARTMENTS
 

Police Department

« Back to Department Listings

» Report a Crime

The mission of the Gary Police Department is to work in partnership with the Citizens of Gary to improve the quality of life by enforcing the laws of the city, state and federal government, while applying the highest standards of professionalism, integrity and accountability.

We will strive to be a proactive organization; maintain a working relationship with other agencies; and obtain and preserve the trust of the community we serve.

LARRY MCKINLEY
CHIEF OF POLICE

THOMAS PAPADAKIS
DEPUTY CHIEF OF POLICE

ANTIQUA AUSTIN
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT

GLORIA LOWE-WALKER
DIRECTOR, ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Units & Divisions

Divisions of Gary Police Dept. Assigned Areas Officer in Command Phone Number
(219)
Chief of Police Larry McKinley
lmckinley@ci.gary.in.us
881-1201
Deputy Chief of Police Thomas Papadakis
tpapadakis@ci.gary.in.us
881-1201
Director Administrative Services Gloria Lowe-Walker glowewalker@ci.gary.in.us 881-7600
Internal Affairs Division Lt. Derrick Cannon
dcannon@ci.gary.in.us
944-1244
Public Information Officer Lt. Dawn Westerfield
dwesterfield@ci.gary.in.us
881-7555
Administrative Sergeant Sgt. Freddie Cook
fcook@ci.gary.in.us
881-1208
Chaplain Chief Chaplain Elder Thomas Williams 881-7550
Uniform Services Commander Clarence Headd
cheadd@ci.gary.in.us
881-7573
8x4 Patrol Supervisor's Office 881-1292
4x12 Patrol Supervisor's Office 881-1205
12x8 Patrol Supervisor's Office 881-1206
Traffic Supervisor Sgt. Michael Jackson
mjackson@ci.gary.in.us
881-7485
   
 
 
Lake St. COP Office
601 S. Lake St.
938-0281
Mid-Town COP Office
1318 Broadway
881-7487
Investigative Commander Delmar Stout
dstout@ci.gary.in.us
881-1237
Homicide
Lt. Thomas Pawlak
tpawlak@ci.gary.in.us
881-1210
General Crimes Lt. Nelson Otano
notano@ci.gary.in.us
949-1209
Narcotics and Vice
Sgt. Samuel Abegg
sabegg@ci.gary.in.us
886-0503
Juvenile Lt. James Walton
jwalton@ci.gary.in.us
881-1229
Sex Crimes
Sgt. Jon Cooros
jcooros@ci.gary.in.us
881-1213
Auto Theft Division


Hit & Run
Sgt. Thomas Decanter
tdecanter@ci.gary.in.us

Shane Bolde
sbolde@ci.gary.in.us
881-1231



881-1217
Special Operations Commander Brian Evans
bevans@ci.gary.in.us
881-7454
Airport Police

Aviation
SWAT Team
Marine Unit

Animal Control


Code Enforcement
Cpl. Terry Lee




Sgt. Darlene Breitenstein
dbreitenstein@ci.gary.in.us

Kenya Maclin
kmaclin@ci.gary.in.us
949-4915




885-7508



881-7450 /
881-7452
Community Services
Commander
Kerry Rice
krice@ci.gary.in.us
881-7422
Community Oriented Policing
Reserve
Supportive Services
Commander
Sarita Titus
stitus@ci.gary.in.us
881-7471
Crime Analysis 881-7403
Bureau of Identifications/
Records
881-1247/
881-1226
Front Desk 881-1214
Property Vault Ofcr. Sean Jackson
sjackson@ci.gary.in.us
881-4760
Radio Dispatch
(Non-Emergency)
 
881-1260
EMERGENCY 911
City of Gary IT Department
Training Division
Motor Pool
  881-7495

881-1252
CRIME TIP HOT LINE 866-274-6347 866-CRIME-GP
     
Humane Officer Sgt. Darlene Breitenstein 881-1234
Police Civil Service
Commission
Angela Brown
abrown@ci.gary.in.us
882-4319

 

Department Contact

Larry Mckinley, Chief
555 Polk St.
Gary, IN 46402
(219) 881-1201
Front Desk (219) 881-1214
(219) 881-1259 Fax

District A - C.O.P. Office

601 S. LAKE STREET
GARY, IN 46403
TEL. 219-938-0281
FAX. 219-938-8079

District C - C.O.P. Office

COMMONS SUBSTATION
4491 WEST 5TH AVE.
GARY, IN 46406
TEL. 219-949-0276

Visit Us


View Larger Map

 

 

 

Living in Gary | Business in Gary | Visiting Gary | City Departments | Connect with Us

© 2015 City of Gary, IN, USA | All Rights Reserved

Site designed, hosted and maintained by DataMine Internet Marketing Solutions